Dat Quarterly Checkup, Tho | Diverse-a-Thon, New Book Baes, & the Posts You Should Be Reading

Dat Quarterly Checkup, Tho

Hello, everyone!

Yes, a quarterly blog wrapup… And, no, it’s not just because I have been slacking for the past three months on the blog in general (okay, it totally is).

This has been a whirlwind of a year. Can you believe it’s only April?! (In that same vein, can you believe it’s already April?!) Jeez. As some of you may have noticed, I haven’t been around the blogosphere much. The plan was to take a break in February, write like mad in March, and be ahead of the game in April. All the ended up happening was me staring longingly at the WordPress reader wanting to write but not having the energy to do anything. Now, I’m somewhat refreshed, almost a year older, and ready to kick my butt into gear.


The Monthly Checkup - Did You Miss These?

The answer: Probably not as they’re my most recent additions to the blog. I have written four posts in the past three months, and I will not allow myself to feel shame for it. I’m officially in the game now (hopefully) after a much needed break, and that’s all that really matters right.


Book of the Quarter

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas | Rating: ★★★★★

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

 

HA! If you thought I would give this highest honor to any other book I’ve read, you buggin’. The Hate U Give is that book for me. I felt it so deep in my soul, and I’m still not fully done processing just how much Angie’s words have meant to me. This is the book I needed as a teen. This is the book I’m trying to make my little sister read as a teen. This is the book I can’t wait to see in literally everyone’s hands.

P.S. Y’all watching Angie slay on the NYT bestsellers list, tho?


TBR No More

I read 14 (out of the promised 15 for the year) books this quarter, and that’s honestly way more than I thought I would get around to. I haven’t been feeling the greatest both mentally and physically, but somehow I found the time for these amazing gems. Some of them even have reviews coming down the pipeline (no, seriously, they do).

The Melody of You and Me by M. Hollis || Rating: ★★★★

» F/F Romance, Filipino LI, queer ensemble, FEMALE FRIENDSHIPS!, IN.A.DAMN.BOOKSTORE.

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller || Rating: ★★★½

» M/M Romance, Patroclus x Achilles, Trojan War!

The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie || Rating: ★★★

» F/F Romance, Chinese-American MC, sea monsters, PIRATES!!!!!!!!, Santa Elena is my wife

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire || Rating: ★★★½

» On-the-page asexual rep (MC), trans male background character, mystery!, suspense!, cool concept

Long Macchiatos and Monsters by Alison Evans || Rating: ★★★★

» Non-binary MC, trans male LI, THE CUTEST STORY ABOUT A PERSON WHO LOVES B-MOVIES & THEIR BOO

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout || Rating:

» LMAO… I don’t like this book. Aliens. Gaslighting. “Plain” MC, it was Twilight -1.5

Peter Darling by Austin Chant || Rating: ★★★½ and ★★★★

» M/M Romance, trans male Peter Pan, Captain Hook is still bae, YOU NEED TO READ THIS.

Jughead Volume 1 by Chip Zdarsky, Erica Henderson || Rating: ★★★

» My soulmate is aromatic asexual (bless up!), it’s Jughead what more can I say?

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas || Rating: ★★★★★

» THE BOOK OF THE YEAR, READ THIS RIGHT NOW, Unapologetically black, the best family, #BlackLivesMatter

Hot for Hades by Alisha Rai || Rating: ★★★

» Hades x Persephone… CERBERUS HAS A HEAD NAMED “BOB,” AND I LOVE HIM

Falling for Him by Alisha Rai || Rating: ★★★½

» Iranian MC, interracial couple, age gap (older woman!), protective little bruffer

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde || Rating: ★★★★★

» BOOK BAE! two couples!— F/F romance, bisexual/Chinese MC with pink hair, autistic (Asperger’s)/fat/has anxiety MC, Lantinx male LI, POC female LI, conventions! fandoms! YouTube!

The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig || Rating: ★★★★

» Biracial MC (Chinese), African F/F couple in the back, maps galore!, practically pirates tbh, Kashmir is my precious son (and he’s Persian) byyyye


Diverse-A-Thon Recap

I wanted to talk about Diverse-a-thon when it happened, but time got away from me. So, here is my recap.

This year, I joined the Diverse-A-Thon festivities a little late. Most of the chats also fell during busy real life hours for me, so I ended up missing all of those. However, I did complete my TBR for the event. I set off to read three books and I finished! Now, does is matter that there were three of my shortest? No! Though, I do think I may have done a disservice to myself by only choosing short books considering I wished all of them would have been longer for one reason or another.

Lesson Learned: Short Books = Double-Edged Sword

Books Read During Diverse-a-Thon

The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie

The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily SkrutskieAh. This is the time where I admit that I didn’t like this book as much as everyone else. I gave it a fair shot, really, I did; but it just fell a bit lot flat for me. The plot was interesting in theory, but this is one of those books that could stand for being a bit longer to flesh out the world and other such nuances. I also felt as though the racial diversity was a bit muddled with not only the MC but the background characters as well. Needless to say, I’m not I’m going to be singing this book’s praises like everyone else. I will, however, say that it was an amazing beginning to a series I do plan to continue. F/F romance, Chinese-American MC, and pirates, tho.

P.S. I may or may not be continuing because I’m in love with Santa Elena (AKA the pirate queen captain of the ship Cass is on) 😍


Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuireON THE PAGE ASEXUAL REP. Basically, no one can tell me anything from now on. I liked this book well enough. I did, however, think it suffered from being too short. This idea that some kids just go missing and end up in vastly different worlds was interesting but at times confusing because there just weren’t enough pages for the text to fully flesh out these worlds. (For real, though, I demand supplemental texts on how all of this works. Where is my doorway?!) But, I hear there is a second book in this series coming out this year, and I can’t wait to read it! Hopefully, we’ll get more of an “inside scope” into one of the worlds.


Long Macchiatos and Monsters by Alison Evans
Long Macchiatos and Monsters by Alison Evans

I LOVE THIS BOOK AND THINK EVERYONE SHOULD READ IT. It was short and sweet, and I’ve read it twice already!

However, as I actually have a review written up for it, I won’t go into a long rave about it just yet. Just know that this is a New Adult novella (?) that follows a non-binary MC (who is in love with hilariously terrible B-movies) as they pursue a relationship with a trans male… in Australia. Das all you need to know. Well, that and the fact that you’ll be screaming for more once it’s over.


Around the Blogosphere

  • Sil @ The Book Voyagers  gives an amazing list of diverse NA reads that I highly recommend everyone bookmark and keep returning to for future reference.
  • Laya Rose made a post over @ GayYa about aromatic representation in web comics and gave quite a few recs with aromantic characters (including their own Mistlands!)
  • Fadwa @ Word Wonders talks about intersectional feminism and collected plenty of different perspectives on the topic (along with awesome book recs)
  • Trang @ Bookidote reveals “Libraries in Fiction and Where to Find Them” or as I like to call it: Every Book Lover’s Guide to That Next Vacation.
  • Katherine @ Fabled Haven discusses Asian representation (or, rather, the lack thereof) in YA
  • Aimal @ Paperbacks and Bookshelves recommends Bollywood movies.

How did your March go? Read anything good? If you have any posts you’d like more eyes on, feel free to drop the link in the comments. I’d love to read them! (I’m sooo behind on bloghopping now)


6 thoughts on “Dat Quarterly Checkup, Tho | Diverse-a-Thon, New Book Baes, & the Posts You Should Be Reading

Leave a Reply

