Top 2016 Releases: The One Where She Admits She *Might* Have Been Missing Out

Top Ten TuesdayFor info about the weekly topics and how to participate, click here.

This week’s topic is “Top Ten 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To (But TOTALLY plan to).” What a mouthful. Also… only half accurate.

Let me explain. When I set out to read ALL OF THE THINGS last year, I knew of like… two books coming out in 2016. [Blah Blah Blah… I’m a disgrace to readers everywhere… Blah Blah Blah]. So, I hadn’t really planned on reading anything published in 2016 [/pauses here to allow for gasps of pure surprise and wonderment] Of course, as the year rolled on and I attempted to get into the trenches of book blogging, I did discover a few things that piqued my interest enough for me to acknowledge their existence but not enough for me to ever do anything about it. These are the books I’m going to talk about.

Will I read them? Maybe. Probably not. I’m flaky af. Would I like to if I had all of the hours in the world and none of the people bothering me? Yes. And that will just have to be enough for now.


*THE* Top Ten 2016 Releases I Might Have Missed

Top Ten 2016 Releases I Missed

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo || GOODREADS

This is one of those books that comes highly recommended from Vee of the Gay YA. I actually started listening to this on audiobook in November (which is good by the way. totally in love with the reader which is the largest hurdle), but I go through bouts of OMGAUDIOBOOKS and Dear God… audiobooks? So, really I’m just waiting for me to get back into the audiobook state of mind. Or, you know, wait until the paperback falls into my laps because I’m protesting my Kindle right now.

The Vegetarian by Han Kang || GOODREADS

I am approximately 80% sure that the reason this book was even on my radar was Naz’s snazzy review here. I was initially intrigued by the beautiful pictures he took the idea of three interwoven stories. Yet here we are in 2017, and I am no closer to reading The Vegetarian than I was when I saw it last year.

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi || GOODREADS

I see now that this is turning into a “Look at the review that added to my TBR Pile!” list, and I am 100% okay with that. It was Resh’s beautiful review of When Breath Becomes Air that made me aware of this book in the first place. And from there, I’ve been wanting to sink into this. For a brief period of time, I even got a physical copy from the library (after being on the longest waiting list of my existence). However, when it arrived, I was not in the mood for something so soul-crushing. Yes, I need to be in a mood to have my heart broken. I just don’t do that to myself all willy nilly. Needless to say, I’m still waiting on that mood to hit me again. The book definitely sounds interesting and that’s saying a lot coming from me— the adult who only watches animated movies and reads lighthearted books all the time on purpose.

Rani Patel in Full Effect by Sonia Patel || GOODREADS

So, I have an ARC of this from BEA. However, when I set out to read it in September, I wasn’t really feeling it despite the fact that I was totally intrigued by the premise. I want to read it again and see if my feelings have changed before talking about it. The mental mood I was in for the whole second half of the year was really detrimental to my reading health. Also, I haven’t really seen any reviews on it, so???

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab || GOODREADS

I came across V.E. Schwab by complete accident. I could leave it at that, but I’m on a roll here. I picked up A Darker Shade of Magic out of straight up curiosity, and I wasn’t disappointed. I think part of the reason I cling to this book so much is because it’s the first book I’ve read in a long time that was written about characters who aren’t like ten years my junior. Kell, Rhy, MYSWEETBBYLILA are all closer to me in age than anyone and really that’s all I want in my life right now. Semi-adults being magical af. (Okay, that’s a lie, but I’ll take it.)

Top Ten 2016 Releases I Missed

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater || GOODREADS

This is it, guys. One of the two books I knew was coming out in 2016. This is the time when I let you in on a little secret (if you’ve read this far, bless you. Also, now you’ll know my shame). I pre-ordered this book without having ever read any other book in the series. In fact, I pre-ordered this book without even knowing Maggie Stiefvater could write. How insane am I? I don’t know where my mind was in 2015. I thought the cover was A+? I thought the story had potential? I was bullying myself to finish a series before I’d even started it? IDK. I’m weird. But I’ll have you know I read through the first three books in record timing just for the release of this bad boy only to have it spoiled for me, so it’s currently sitting on my shelf untouched.

The Mothers by Britt Bennett || GOODREADS

This is actually the newest addition to my many TBR piles. I’d been seeing it around a lot whenever I slip into one of my libraries trolling for books I’ll probably never read. The cover caught my eye before I had any clue what it was about (okay, let me frank: I STILL have no clue what it’s about). It was praised/recommended by a few bloggers I trust and even made it into a Buzzfeed Books email, so why tf not? I’m down.

When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore || GOODREADS

AKA The Beautiful Book Bae I Wasn’t Ready to Let Consume Me Even Though I’d Been Waiting Ten Years for It to Come My Way. I know deep down in my heart of hearts that this book is good. In fact, I read the first chapter for my Try a Chapter post a while back and determined that it was good. Yet, here I am. The sad, lonely girl who hasn’t actually pulled herself far enough out of her weird reading dilemma to read the damn thing. I feel like I’ve let my book bae down.

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire|| GOODREADS

I want to read this purely because there is said to be asexual rep in here. Let me tell you this: If there is none, I will rage all over the internet about how everyone lied to me.

Black Panther #1 by by Ta-Nehisi Coates || GOODREADS

Who doesn’t want to read this? Please don’t tell me because that will hurt my feelings. I’m not big on comic books, but I am big on watching the many AUs and storylines being added to Marvel’s long, weird history. I’ve also heard nothing but good things about this, so I’m interest to see how Coates took this story and made it his own for the consumption of present day society.


So, there’s my exhaustive extensive list. Have you read any of these books? Better yet, did you talk about this topic this week? I wanna read then add even more to my already-body-crushing TBR pile.

29 thoughts on “Top 2016 Releases: The One Where She Admits She *Might* Have Been Missing Out

  1. Lots of books on my list as well! I never got around to If I Was Your Girl, When The Moon Was Ours, and The Vegetarian. But I DID read Black Panther, The Mothers, and Every Heart A Doorway (wait, but that was in early January oops). I can’t make any commitments to reading these books in 2017 because I’m flaky AF too. x) That’s how we book bloggers are, mostly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha I had that same goal and totally blew it! *facepalm* But but but…I will read all the books this year! Especially Rani Patel and The Mothers! I’m always 1 year behind on new books, shame on me for being a bad blogger. Oh the McGuire novella is great and quick! :)

    Like

  3. “Will I read them? Maybe. Probably not. I’m flaky af.” okay, if this isn’t me 😂

    If I was forced to choose one favourite book from last year I think I’d choose Every Heart. It was such a beautiful book. I’m not asexual so I can’t comment on how the rep was handled, but it was definitely there. It even mentioned that aromantic ≠ asexual and vice versa and was the first time I ever saw the word “aromantic” in a book and like ngl I got pretty teary, haha. I definitely recommend it! I’m currently reading When the Moon was Ours and it’s a little slow, but the writing is beautiful. I loved The Raven King and A Gathering of Shadows too. I really want to read The Vegetarian!

    Like

  4. A Gathering of Shadows is my favorite book of 2016. It’s absolutely amazing, though a little on the slow side in the beginning. I really hope you read it some day soon because the last book comes out next month and I need as many people to suffer with me as possible haha

    Like

  5. It is wonderful to know that you have Breath becomes air on your radar. Thank you for reading my blog. It is heart breaking at several paces. So pick it up when you are in the right mood for it. I hope you will enjoy the read. ]
    I see many more good books in your list. Yes, Every Heart a Doorway has an asexual rep. :)

    Like

  6. Ugh, having books spoiled stinks! Sorry someone went all “spoiler” on you with the Raven King. Still worth the read, though, I’d say!

    I haven’t read “A Darker Shade of Magic” yet, so I didn’t pick up “A Gathering of Shadows’ but it’s on my list for this year (hopefully)!

    Also, “When The Moon Was Ours” is on my list too. Can’t wait to finally read that one.

    Good luck with you reading goals this year!

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was the worst, and I don’t think I’ll ever get over it (Seriously, it happened in May… I need to let it go BUT I WILL NOT).

      I hope you enjoy it when you get around to it. I definitely thought ADSOM was amazing!

      GAH. If the first chapter is anything to go off of, it’s beautifully written, and I really need to stop picking up every other book I see and just finish with that one. Hopefully by the end of the year, I will have read it… we shall see.

      Good luck to you as well!

      Like

    • Oh jeez. I’m not sure if I’m ready to have my feelings poked at quite yet. Also, I’m glad about the rep in Every Heart. I keep slowly pushing it higher and higher on my priority list. This might be right up my alley, though, because I’ve been needing shorter books in my life.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I need a Gathering of Shadows!
    So many books last year and so little time! Also in my case I was not in the mood of reading a lot, I am getting older and I get too tired that when I sit to read I fall sleep 😛

    My TTT.

    Like

    • Same here. I’m a mood reader through and through, so there have been quite a few times I picked up a few of these books and just tossed them to the side because my mood said, “no.” Why must so many good things come out at once?! There’s no time for it all!

      Like

  8. I darn near loved The Mothers. You should read it. It’s about complicated families and friendships and that is totally my jam. Also, the writing is so engaging. I read it in about one sitting.

    I couldn’t get into Rani Patel either. I didn’t put it on my abandoned shelf, so maybe I’m thinking I’ll get back to it another day? Who knows?

    P.S. I also don’t really keep up with release dates. I add stuff to my TBR (just realized Goodreads notifies you when new books come out when you do this) but pay no mind to the what and why-for of it all.

    Like

  9. If A Gathering of Shadows is the one I think it is, I want to read it. Seanan McGuire is an entertaining writer, though I prefer her Mira Grant stuff to her McGuire releases.

    I hope you get to at least the first 5 on your list :)

    Our TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Awww A Gathering of Shadows is a great sequel you definitely have to read that one and I love the sound of Every Heart A Doorway (hopefully everyone wasn’t lying to you… else I will join you on your rampage!)

    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ paein-and-ms4tune

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is great to hear! I know of quite a few people who actually liked it A LOT more than the first one (which sounds insane to me because I loved the first one so much… can it really get better from there?) I’m definitely pushing that higher on the list.

      Right?! I keep getting reassurances that this is real, and yet… I trust no one. Good thing I picked this one up from my library a few days ago. I’ll now be able to confirm (or deny) the existence of on-the-page asexuality!

      Like

    • The fact that everyone keeps telling me how great A Gathering of Shadows is makes me even more excited about it than I was before (and I was already plenty excited). I really hope this is the year I can push aside my saltiness and FINALLY read The Raven King… Y’know, before I forget the plot of the three prior books.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

