Week in Review 11/14/16

For those of you who are participating in NaNoWriMo/NaBloPoMo, congratulations! We have made it to day 20. I cannot believe Thanksgiving is this week. I know I talked about the month going so damn slow, but… this is proof that time is fleeting. Wasn’t it just Halloween?

A Week in Review with The Backlist Babe


A Week in the Life

Last week was a VERY busy week, filled with me scrambling at work because this week is short af and I don’t have one of those jobs you can really get done in three days. So, this week is definitely going to be trying to my patience. In other news, I GOT PROMOTED AT MY JOB. I now have a fancypants new title– it’s Assistant Managing Editor (doesn’t it sound like I actually do work now?). Aside from that, my family and I are preparing our home to be overrun with staving relatives come Thanksgiving… and I’m still looking for Black Friday sales ads because I forgot Christmas was coming and have bought none of the things…

beaker-panic

A Week in Reading


Currently Reading What I’m Supposed to be Reading:

    • A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab
      I’m actually still buddy reading this along with a few other bloggers on Twitter this month. Naturally, I’m even more behind than I was when I first told you guys I was behind.

 

    • the-book-endsLabyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova
      There were three reasons I stopped reading this book only 30-40 pages away from the end (1) I didn’t want the book to end. I am seriously Elephant from We Are in a Book (to your right if you have no clue wtf I’m talking about) (2) I’m at a spot where I predicted what would happen, but I’d wanted to be wrong about it. So, basically I’m bitter af right now (3) I heard the “ending battle” was lackluster at best, and I just want to live through the good moments this book has given me.

 

    • History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
      I know. I know. I was reading More Happy Than Not last week, but I just realized that December is around the corner and I wanna post my ARC review of this little babe before it comes out this time… which will essential say, “Purchase this book from your local bookstore on January 17, 2017.”

New to the Bookshelves

New to the Shelves

  1. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo – I know I don’t have to read this series to understand Six of Crows; but ever since I found out about it, I feel like I should go in order. Which means I’ll get to Six of Crows when I’m on my deathbed, basically.
  1. The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller – I have been toying with the idea of reading this book for a while now. It’s just casually been chilling out on my many Amazon lists for like a year now. But I’ve been in the mood for some Greek Mythology lately, so why not? (Also, Fadwa’s lovely review of said book really reminded me to buy it)
  1. Love Beyond Body, Space, and Time: An Indigenous LGBT Sci-Fi Anthology by Hope Nicholson – I’d been seeing this book floating around Twitter for quite some time now. Since I’ve recently been into anthologies, apparently (Okay, it was just Fairytales for Lost Children but still), I figured I could add it to the list. Also, that cover is GORGEOUS.
  1. Angelfall by Susan Ee – Amazon never fails to shove this book into my face, especially when I’m vulnerable and susceptible to peer pressure. So, I clicked on it and vaguely remembered I had read a convincing review from Liam on the book and figured WHY THE HELL NOT JUST PUT IT IN MY DUMB CART, AMAZON. YOU WIN.

In Case You Missed It…

Coming Soon!

    • Two more #Bookvember book recommendations (hopefully)
    • Some form of Top Ten Tuesday
    • I hope to have a gushy review of All American Boys up this week (on Wednesday, to be exact)
    • A diversity spotlight featuring who knows what
    • I 99.9% sure this is the week of my On a Positive Note feature!

I’m linking up to Stacking the Shelves & The Sunday Post!
5 thoughts on “Week in Review 11/14/16

  1. Shadow & Bone is such a wonderful book! I love the Grisha series. I laughed at your use of Gerald the elephant (I work with Kindergartners so I do get the reference), I often get that way with a series that I love (the Grisha series would be one example). Have fun reading and being a big muckity muck at work!

    Like

  2. Again: CONGRATULATIONS! That’s such an officially badass job title, and it looks stunning on you. What kind of company do you work in? Are you dealing with books, magazines, newspapers, journals, online article things?

    Oh, no; it’s upsetting to hear that the end of Labrynth Lost looks to be disappointing. Hopefully you’ll like it better than you anticipate? My fingers are crossed.

    “Which means I’ll get to Six of Crows when I’m on my deathbed, basically.”

    Ha! I’m actually going to go ahead and read the original trilogy, too, before I read Crooked Kingdom. I’ve heard that CK contains major spoilers for the original trilogy, so I might as well. I read Shadow and Bone when it first came out, and thought it was eeeeh. I’d made no plans to read its sequels, but now I’m weirdly reluctant to have them spoiled for me. Maybe we can support each other through the long, slow process of reading them?

    I’ll be sweating bullets until I find out if you enjoyed Angelfall or not. You’re welcome to hate it, of course, but I’ll be deeply ashamed of myself if you do. Ha ha, just kidding, my self-worth totally doesn’t rely on being able to flawlessly review and recommend books for everyone in the world. 😅

    Looking forward to your future stuff, of course!

    Like

Leave a Reply

