5 Ways to Get Over Your Reading Slump

So, you’ve just finished the greatest (or worst) book EVER, and you seem to have fallen into a bit of a slump? Or… maybe you’re like me and just can’t seem to get back into the groove of conquering your TBR book by book. Don’t worry. All readers get to this place at some point. You’re not damned to never find another book enjoyable… hopefully. It won’t always be like this. Trust me.

Of course… if you don’t trust me (and I mean, why would you? We just met.) I’ve got 5 ways to pull yourself out of that terrible reading slump (from my own personal experience).

5 Ways to Get Over Your Reading Slump

Revisit an old favorite

Hell, revisit an old favorite children’s book. You won’t regret it! I did this recently with James and the Giant Peach, a selection of Dr. Seuss books, and a cheesy Goosebumps book. It definitely brought me out of that slump.

Surround yourself with book-spiration

Whether it’s Tumblr or Instagram or even talking to a coworker about your current faves, it might help to see other people being enthusiastic about books. Who knows, you may even find a new book to add to your ever-growing TBR pile. (Also, if you’re not following Amanda @ The BookCraft by now, what are you even doing on Instagram?)

Read a very short story

or dive into a comic/graphic novel. Trick your brain into thinking you’re not reading at all. If you need some ideas, online literary magazines like Hobart and [Pank] are good places to start. (source: I had to troll those a lot in college for my lit mag course)

Have you tried an audiobook?

Or a bookish podcast (because Book Riot has a list of 25 bookcasts to check out)? Sometimes when I burn myself out on physical copies, I can still get in some quality book time by having one read to me. Be careful, though. Not every voice you encounter while browsing through your favorite books will be a good one.

Take a break

You might just be burnt out, so don’t force it. You don’t have to read every minute of every day no matter what people say. I promise your reader’s card won’t be revoked. Just make sure you come back!


Are there any things you guys do when the dreaded reading slump rears its ugly head? I’d like to add to the list.

8 thoughts on “5 Ways to Get Over Your Reading Slump

  1. When I’m in a reading slump, I turn to chick lit – just something light and fun with a little bit of romance. I like the too-good-to-be-true coincidences and happy endings. It’s also great when the books are British and then I imagine the characters speaking with British accents and using words like “flat” and “brilliant”! I can usually get through these books really fast, too, so it’s not like I’ve invested a whole lot of time on them.

    Like

  2. Fantastic list! :D I’d probably say exercising, enjoying the nature or even checking out shows/movies (based on your favourite genre too? :D) could probably help me out if I ever went into a slump (I’ve never really been in one honestly).

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    • [/knocking on wood in the hopes that this never ever happens to you]

      Ooo. That nature one is a good one! Also, I’ve never thought to look up movies/shows in the same genre, so I’m definitely going to try that one out soon (I’m not gonna even attempt to kid myself with the exercise on. I never would.).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Childhood books are always a good way to get out of a slump! I should try some graphic novels next time I think :) I tend to read trashy romances, because you know the ending already so you don’t have to think at all!

    Liked by 1 person

    • THAT’S WHAT I WAS MISSING! Trashy novels are, by far, one of my favorite ways to break out of a slump. If it’s a paranormal one, that’s all the better… and I will literally end up reading like three in a row before realizing I’m probably officially out of the slump and can actually read other things. lol

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Excellent advice, all of it. And did you take the header image pictures? Because it’s gorgeous. (Also gorgeous, of course, is that pic from thebookcraft. You’re right, what AM I doing on Instagram, not following her? I must fix this immediately.)

    My go-to for serious reading slumps is to focus on another form of storytelling for a bit—typically K-dramas, anime, my various favorite BBC miniseries, or other TV shows that have a solid narrative arc and don’t go on forever. It’s a nice change, actually seeing people (real or animated) interact in front of me, rather than in my head.

    Do you think you’ll make a separate post devoted to your favorite book inspiration sources? Because clearly you can point the way to some great sites, and we your devoted readers (or at least this one in particular) could benefit from your guidance. *Fingers crossed.*

    Liked by 1 person

    • I did not (praise the book gods for relevant free stock photos). My photography skills are probably the worst in existence right now. If y’all would kindly give me a year, though, I might be able to conjure up enough skill to not feel ashamed to post my own pics again.

      OMG I NEED TO DO THIS. I am behind on all of the anime I wanted to watch. I can’t believe I didn’t actually think to do this yet. Netflix/Amazon Video has been neglected by me so much. Welp, goodbye productivity.

      I can definitely do the thing! All of the aesthetically pleasing things for all of the peoples.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Free stock photos for the win! You should’ve seen the photos I initially took and posted on my blog; the first, like, year of blogging was a horror show. I retook all my photos before I started really reaching out to the blogging community, but those photos were only marginally better than the originals. I just retook them all AGAIN when I updated my theme a couple months ago. Who knew taking acceptable pictures of books was so damn hard?

        DO THE ANIME, DO IT.

        Wait, hold on, no, DON’T DO IT. Productivity is great! We love productivity! Do that instead! *Sweats.*

        Hurray! 😄

        Like

Leave a Reply

