Week in Review 10/31/16

I low key missed doing these little weekly wrap-ups, so I’m bringing this nonsense back  while I have legitimate activity going on with the blog (Thank you, NaBloPoMo). I’ve been quite the busy bee since my lackluster return to the blogosphere, and I’m incredibly excited to share with you all what I’ve been cooking up lately… You know, if I can ever force myself to sit down and write about it.

A Week in Review with The Backlist Babe


A Week in the Life

Last week was Hell Week at work thanks to having meetings up the ass. I have no clue why this always happens. On a brighter note, I threw a banging Halloween party for my company with the rest of our Social Committee (where we watched Hocus Pocus like the adults we all are). In case you cared to know, I dressed up as the one and only Cruella De Vil and STOLE ALL THE VOTES for the individual costume contest, bested only by the Stranger Things group. It was seriously amazing, guys. They transformed one of our office spaces into the Stranger Things… scene (Can you tell I know nothing about this show), even going so far as to feed us all Eggo Waffles (which I’m sure is relevant af). It’s all on Buzzfeed because my coworkers are simply the best.

cruella-de-vil

I also went to the zoo with my family and had a surprisingly decent time (despite wanting to peace out to go read all day).

In Case You Missed It…

    • Alrighty, if you haven’t noticed my obnoxious announcements in each and every post, I’m participating in NaBloPoMo. The rundown: You can expect a new post from me every single day for the month of November. It is in that fashion that I introduced Nicole Brinkley’s #Bookvember book recommendations to the blog (Mondays and Fridays!). Check it out if need any more convincing that you need to read Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi (which you shouldn’t because it’s brilliant).
    • INTRODUCING… The post I’m most proud of to date, “I read from the backlist (and you should, too)!” Seriously, I never felt more myself than with that post.
    • I recently joined in on the weekly Diversity Spotlight Thursday. This week, I gave my three picks for magical realism in YA.
    • #Bookvember Take Two briefly exploring my love for All American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brandan Kiely. It was so powerful guys. If you haven’t read it yet, I HIGHLY recommend you add it to your TBR list… and push it as high as it can go.
    • I closed out my week of posts with a fun little Book Tastes Tag… that I may or may not have been tagged for.

Coming Soon!

    • Two more #Bookvember book recommendations
    • Hopefully a mini review of Radio Silence by Alyssa Cole (it’s slowly turning into a legit review, tho)
    • Some form of Top Ten Tuesday
    • A diversity spotlight on graphic novels (much excite!!!)
    • … and the introduction of a new feature on the blog this Saturday!

I’m linking up to The Sunday Post!
2 thoughts on “Week in Review 10/31/16

Leave a Reply

