Diversity Spotlight Thursday #2 – POC Starring in Their Own Damn Story

Diversity Spotlight ThursdayHosted by Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks, Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme used to promote diverse reads that may otherwise go unnoticed. Every week, you come up with one book in each of three different categories: a diverse book you have read and enjoyed, a diverse book on your TBR, and one that has not yet been released. Check out this announcement post for more information on how to join in on the fun and spread diverse reads to the world!


A Book I Have Read

ALL. OF. SAGA. by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Saga Book One by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona StaplesSaga is the story of Hazel, a child born to star-crossed parents from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war. Now, Hazel’s fugitive family must risk everything to find a peaceful future in a harsh universe that values destruction over creation.


Does this count? Who knows? I think it does considering the lengths our artist and writer went to in order to color in the main characters and not leave them lily white. This graphic novel/comic series/whatever tf is important. It uses its platform to talk about the real issues going down in the world while also highlighting the importance of family (and reading!). This should really be on every GN list ever. And I can guarantee that I won’t stop screeching about it until you have all read it.


A Book I Want to Read

Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera

Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby RiveraJuliet Milagros Palante is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and isn’t sure if her mom will ever speak to her again. But Juliet has a plan, sort of, one that’s going to help her figure out this whole “Puerto Rican lesbian” thing. She’s interning with the author of her favorite book: Harlowe Brisbane, the ultimate authority on feminism, women’s bodies, and other gay-sounding stuff.

Will Juliet be able to figure out her life over the course of one magical summer? Is that even possible? Or is she running away from all the problems that seem too big to handle?

With more questions than answers, Juliet takes on Portland, Harlowe, and most importantly, herself.


Everyone and their mothers has read this book already, so I’m a bit behind the times. I first got really hyped about it over the summer when it was the book club book for the GayYA. Unfortunately, I was in a headspace that kept me from reading much of anything. So, this precious baby is still taking up space on my TBR until I can buy it (it’s not in my library or any other library in the area currently which is rude).


Coming Soon!

Rani Patel in Full Effect by Sonia Patel
OUT NOW!

Rani Patel in Full Effect by Sonia PatelAlmost seventeen, Rani Patel appears to be a kick-ass Indian girl breaking cultural norms as a hip-hop performer in full effect. But in truth, she’s a nerdy flat-chested nobody who lives with her Gujarati immigrant parents on the remote Hawaiian island of Moloka’i, isolated from her high school peers by the unsettling norms of Indian culture where “husband is God.” Her parents’ traditionally arranged marriage is a sham. Her dad turns to her for all his needs—even the intimate ones. When Rani catches him two-timing with a woman barely older than herself, she feels like a widow and, like widows in India are often made to do, she shaves off her hair. Her sexy bald head and hard-driving rhyming skills attract the attention of Mark, the hot older customer who frequents her parents’ store and is closer in age to her dad than to her. Mark makes the moves on her and Rani goes with it. He leads Rani into 4eva Flowin’, an underground hip hop crew—and into other things she’s never done. Rani ignores the red flags. Her naive choices look like they will undo her but ultimately give her the chance to discover her strengths and restore the things she thought she’d lost, including her mother.


Hello… It’s me– the cheater. This book came out on Tuesday, but what are ya gonna do? Seriously, who gon’ check me, boo? I fell in love with the author, Sonia Patel, (and the story she had to share) way back in May when I attended BEA (BookExpo America). I even managed to get an ARC that has been staring at me from the bookshelf attached to my bed for a couple of months now. One day, babe. I swear. Give me time. From the first couple of chapters, though, it is a very powerful read and the rhymes are sick! I recommend it already.


If you’re participating in Diversity Spotlight Thursday, feel free to link me to your post in the comments below. I’d love to see what everyone’s getting excited about.

“Question” of the Day: Favorite book starring a poc and why?
13 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #2 – POC Starring in Their Own Damn Story

  1. LOVE Saga and just wish I’d waited until it was done before I started reading it. Really want to read Juliet, especially as I’m from Portland. And am adding Rani Patel to my TBR too. Great picks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • YAY! You’ll have to let me know how you like it if you get around to it before me (okay, you probably will because I am SO behind in reading).

      IT IS SO GOOD. I am going to just sob in my corner waiting on the newest collection to grace my presence… next year…

      Like

  2. Rani Patel in Full Effect sounds like a tough one, but definitely intriguing. I haven’t read Juliet Takes a Break yet either, even though I’ve seen it everywhere on the book community! I will get to it one day though, I promise :P And Saga, well, I’ve wanted to read it for so long, but I can’t find it here and I need to have physical copies of it or it won’t be the same!

    You can check my picks for today here if you’d like!

    Like

    • Right?! I think I just have to be in a different headspace to finish it. Hopefully, I can tackle that some time soon. Oh, Juliet definitely blew up a lot in the book community, and I want to know what everyone is excited about. It sounds like something I can really love based off of the reviews I read (because I couldn’t just ignore them. lol). You and me both. One day, we shall conquer this book. AH! I hope physical copies appear for you because I imagine it would definitely be a different experience if you just read it on an eReader or the computer. The art is just so gorgeous! I don’t know how they do it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

