The Monthly Checkup: February 2016

I am very much aware that we are about halfway through March. However, you must understand that I don’t care. I’m giving you February’s “The Monthly Checkup,” and you’re going to just have to deal with it. [/clears throat] I have no clue what I’m actually supposed to do in one of these things, so I’ll probably be playing around with the format over the next few months. Please bear with me. Now… onto the nitty gritty of the past month!

The Monthly Checkup

First things first, I’m now two months deep in the book blogging world, and it’s been a very weird experience. I went into it thinking I would have time on my hands to keep everything running smoothly, but then life decided to smack me around it a bit. It’s cool. You guys that read my posts are awesome and make it all worth fighting the storm to get on here every week. Pat yourself on the back.

ICYMI:

Book Reviews:

Top Ten Tuesday:

Miscellaneous:

TBR NO MORE:

This month, I blew through eight books (Yes, I’m counting the Saga volumes as books. Fite me). What does that mean for me? I’m hella behind on book reviews, so you’ll have to forgive me if I start posting more than on review per week in March/April. Here were my reads for the month:

The Darkest Lie by Gena Showalter
Rating: 3-Creature Rating
I have oh so many mixed feelings about this book. If you’ve read any of Showalter’s Lords of the Underworld books, you’d know that each one primarily follows the story of one of the Lords. This book dealt with Gideon who is cursed to never be able to tell the truth, and it just go really frustrating really quickly. Review pending, though!

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
Rating: 4-Creature Rating
I absolutely positively loved this book. So much so that I actually did write a review for this one almost as soon as I’d finished it. Highly recommend it.

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Steifvater
Rating: 3-Creature Rating
UGH. I had the same problem with pacing that I did with The Raven Boys (whose rating I had to change recently). The sad part is that I wanted to love this book because Ronan (and this series because it’s a decent idea) so much that I just kept giving it free passes to just be sub-par. Not anymore! This review is also pending.

Saga 1-3 by Brian K. Vaughan (writer) and Fiona Staples (artist)
Rating: 4-Creature Rating
These graphic novels are perfection. I really need everyone to read them so that I can fangirl over them with more people. Also, is there some kind of group I can join for those who are practically dying inside while they not-so-patiently await Volume 6?

Angelborn by L.Penelope
Rating: 3-Creature Rating½
This is one of those books that I thirst-bought during Valentine’s Day Weekend. I had no expectations about it whatsoever, so I was pleasantly surprised when I realized that it was a supernatural romance novel featuring TWO. BLACK. CHARACTERS. Guys, this basically never happened when I’m reading, so I blew through it. It was decent. Nothing spectacular or earth-shattering. Just decent. Actual review pending.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
Rating: 4-Creature Rating½
OMGOMGOMG. I have none words for this book because I loved it so much. Seriously, it’s been a while since I finished it, and I still constantly think about just how amazing Albertalli is for writing this. Can I please have more Simon and Blue? Please? Like… right now possibly? Review pending.

 

BOOK OF THE MONTH:

The Monthly Checkup: February 2016

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (byeee)

 

AROUND THE BLOGOSPHERE:

Where I highlight the discussion posts in the community that I truly enjoyed reading throughout the month. I highly recommend giving them a read!

Not all books hate families, I assure you..! | A list of books with pro-family themes from Book Snacks Blog

  • This is a topic I’ve actually been seeing a lot lately (so I really just need to scrap my draft of it), but I love it every single time I come across it. It’s nice to see all the differing views on whether or not YA in particular should change the way they depict families.

My bookish pet peeves from The Lit Mermaid

  • I felt so many of these deep within my soul, so I simply had to add it. Duh.

RANT: Book Snobs from Anette Reads

  • This post is EVERYTHING and definitely put into perspective a lot of what I feel when dealing with so-called “super fans” of popular series– whether they be book or film. #Bless

 

Until next time, monsters!

4 thoughts on “The Monthly Checkup: February 2016

Leave a Reply

