Book Therapy: February 2016 (Pt. 1)

Book Therapy: The Epic Book Haul

Here it is. My first official book haul on this blog. I know I didn’t do one last month, but that was mostly due to lack of time and energy. Trust me, I rarely go a month without buying at least five books (completely by accident, believe it or not).

So, you may be wondering “Why Book Therapy?” One thing you’ll come to know about me is that I typically go to the bookstore whenever things aren’t going quite so well with me. Walking through Half Price Books is a serious detox method for me. I get to forget the world and myself for a little while. Sometimes, I just ride around to the farthest store from my house and walk around for literal hours.

Of course, the downside is that I always end up with an armful of books to buy (baskets and carts are for punks) which isn’t really a downside when you think about it. And this is where these beauties come into play… Feast your eyes, blogosphere!

Book Therapy: Bookenstein's February Book Haul

Alrighty. I put myself on a bit of book ban last month, agreeing to only go to the bookstore once a month. In its place, I gave myself free reign of the library. As you can see from this massive haul, I have broken the ban and vowed to never restrict myself ever again. I mean, why take away the one thing that makes me happy, right?

[For anyone who doesn’t feel like counting, there are 30 books in that picture. That isn’t to count the many eBooks I thirst-bought this month because who has the time to tally those, amiright?]

Most of these were impulse “I see you and need you on my shelf” buys. Things like a classic version of Lewis Carroll’s Adventures in Wonderland, E.B. White’s Stuart Little, and R.L. Stine’s Nightmare Hour were no-brainers for me. I’m such a sucker for the tales of my youth. The other things have been shamefully added to one of my many many many TBR piles.

Some, though, I bought with purpose. And those are the ones I’ll talk more in depth about.

Take for instance, my Neil Gaiman collections. He’s easily one of my favorite authors, and I couldn’t keep passing up Trigger Warning and Fragile Things. I’m super stoked to get started, but I just know these are the kind of books you have to be in the mood for. I also had to buy Blue Lily, Lily Blue, the third book in The Raven Cycle. While the series itself isn’t the absolute best thing I’ve ever read (I’ll probably talk about that later in the reviews), I do want to finish the series and see if Gansey is finally going to die and come back to life because I wouldn’t be that lucky. AND The BFG is being made into a movie. DID YOU GUYS KNOW THAT?! So, of course I bought it to read again before the big day (which happens to be July 1, 2016 in case you were wondering).

Theeen, I decided to give into the hype this past month and bought the new-releases, An Ember in the Ashes and Passenger. Neither of which I’ve even started yet, so… yeah, that’s how my month is going. I also got into Saga because of the hype, and bought the first three in a week (and recently purchased/pre-ordered the rest of the bunch). I regret nothing. I’m so hopelessly devoted to Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples.

Finally, I recently joined a #readwomen group on Goodreads for the book suggestions. For March, they’re reading Octavia Butler’s Kindred. I’ve been wanting to read this one for… FOREVER. Needless to say, when I saw that, I picked up and took a trip to my fave HPB… only to walk out with a bunch of other books. But that’s beside the point. Kindred is now in my possession, and that’s all that really matters right now.

Not pictured: The ARC of The New Guy and Other Senior Year Distractions by Amy Spalding that I won from a Goodreads giveaway (this is like the first thing I’ve ever won, so yaaaay).

So, have you read any of these books?

Also, feel free to link me to your book hauls in the comments because I love looking through them!

 

Click here for part two of February’s Book Therapy c:

 

Follow Bookenstein around the Internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Tumblr

One thought on “Book Therapy: February 2016 (Pt. 1)

Leave a Reply

