Top Ten Tuesday: The One Where She Admits to Reading Something Else

top-ten-tuesday
For info about the weekly topics and how to participate, click here.

Alrighty. I get it. A lot of us just know without a shadow of doubt what books will and won’t work for us– whether it be young adult fiction or paranormal romance. That’s a given. However, every once in a while you’ve gotta step outside of your comfort zone… otherwise you’re going to miss something truly amazing.

I was super thrilled about this week’s topic: “Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently That Were Out of My Comfort Zone.” You know, up until the moment I realized that last year wasn’t my best year of reading. I read like none things and only liked a handful of them. So, you’ll be getting my condensed version this week because I do what I want. So, without further adieu here is my fail list of things I actually liked.

The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis

The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis

I’m going to start this list with a blast from the past (AKA last year). My carpool buddy got it in her mind to listen to this audiobook on our way to work for about a week. While I definitely missed a few things here and there due to being unashamedly asleep during the drive, the parts that I managed to clue into were enjoyable. In case you didn’t know: The Screwtape Letters catalogs the correspondence between a wise upper-level devil to his newbie nephew Wormwood as he instructs him in the correct way to secure the eternal damnation of one “The Patient.” Was it out of my comfort zone? Hell yeah. I don’t read many texts with religious undertones unless forced. But this satirical beauty was written in such a way that I didn’t mind it one bit.

Also, it is said that the book version was dedicated to J.R.R. Tolkien. Which is funny considering Lewis didn’t even like writing the book. Basically, I live for any visible drama between these Tolkien and Lewis.

The Wallflower Series by Lisa Kleypas

The Wallflower Series by Lisa Kleypas

Let me tell you a thing. I love my romance novels… my PARANORMAL romance novels. So, when some nice young ladies decided to start up a “Nothing But Trash Book Club” (under the pretense that we should reread Twilight in between pure smut -__-), I wanted nothing to do with it. Then came the realization that, together, everyone owned every Lisa Kleypas book. And. The. Information. Spread. Like. Wildfire. The trashy book club became the secret LK book club, and my cube buddy delivered the first book of The Wallflower series to me promising that I would love it. Since she NEVER lends out books, I gave it a go; and I lost my mind momentarily. Who knew I could add Historical Romance to my repertoire? Not me. But now it’s here to stay… And I shamelessly blew through the rest of the series.

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

Graphic novels were never my thing. I was a manga girl in a past life (it’s not the same). But I’ve been wanting to get back to the world of pretty pictures and words merged together to form one cohesive story. And OMG. I FELL SO HARDCORE FOR THIS IF YOU COULDN’T TELL. Seriously, I want another one. Still do. [/clears throat irritatingly] Please, Noelle?

Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Yeah, I just got caught up in the hype. Fight me, bro. Even though there are some pieces where I’m like, “Was this really necessary?” I am still hopelessly devoted to My One and Only Baby Marko this series. Also, A++ on that diversity and the strong women characters.

So, guys, what books took you out of your comfort zone?

Goodreads | Twitter | Tumblr

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: The One Where She Admits to Reading Something Else

    • It is so good, and Kleypas is such an amazing writer. I can definitely see her becoming one of my many go-to authors. Devil in Winter is actually my best friend’s favorite book of the series. I try not to analyze this series too much. Just gotta enjoy it. haha. I personally liked It Happened One Autumn because I have loved Lillian from the beginning.

      Like

Leave a Reply

