Week in Review [4]

This Past Week in Review with BookensteinBlog

Two Weeks in the Life

This post will be covering two weeks (again because this is the new norm), so please bear with me.

[/clears throat dramatically] The biggest moment of last week was that my brother and I FINALLY got to go see Disney on Ice. Seriously, it felt like I was waiting ten million years for the day to finally arrive. You see, I actually bought the tickets back in January because I was paranoid they would sell out (they didn’t). So, I’ve been staring at them every day since and it finally came and… IT. WAS. GLORIOUS!

We began our Disney night sitting like this as Mickey, Minnie, Donald, and Goofy came out…

By the end, we were both out of our seats, near tears, and unable to handle any emotions. All of the tiny humans were looking at us as if we had gone insane. While the older kids were just excited that there were people present to sing with them and settle some disputes on which Disney movie really is the best. Seriously, I don’t know if I will ever be the same after seeing that; and I’m so happy that I’ve basically got a “Disney Group” started up for next year because… well… I’m a godsdamn child.

This week in the life, I caught whatever bug has been going around the office. So, needless to say, I’ve been a bit out of commission for roughly a week now (because when I get sick, I’m basically knocking on death’s door repeatedly). I’ve been drugging myself up all weekend, though. So, I should be back in business soon. Hopefully. We’ll just have to see what this Nyquil says.

In Case You Missed It…

[1 Feb] Literary Birthday: Langston Hughes
[3 Feb] Book Review: The Raven Boys by Maggie Steifvater
[4 Feb] Tag Me Thursday: The Dragon’s Loyalty Award
[6 Feb] It Gets Better… Right? Pt. 1 (Premature thoughts on Outlander)

[10 Feb] Book Review: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Two Weeks in Reading

Just Finished:
The Darkest Lie by Gena Showalter:
I have oh so many meh feelings. One day, I will write them all down.

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson:
I really need to add this book to my shelves right now because I loved it so much. It was such a fast-paced graphic novel with the cutest little badass characters I’ve seen in a while. I breezed through it in like two hours and definitely want more. Ugh. Bless you, Noelle. Bless. You.


Currently Reading:

A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin
It’s finally here!!!! On Audiobook… My library either didn’t send me the reminder, or that email has been buried beneath everything else because I did not even know it was in. This just means I have to binge-listen for the next week or so. No big, right? It’s over 30 hours of text, I’m probably going to die.

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Showalter
This book is taking me F-O-R-E-V-E-R to read, and I can’t tell if it’s because I’ve been sick or if it’s just really slow-going. That isn’t to say this sequel from Stiefvater isn’t interesting, I’m just not as into it as I was the first (and I’m beginning to think this is because I’m just here for the world-building of series).

New to the Bookshelves

As always, links lead to good ol’ Goodreads

Library eBooks/Audiobooks

  1. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  2. These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman
  3. A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin


Random Kindle eBooks

  1. Close Liaisons by Anna Zaires
  2. Finally Home by Ancelli
  3. Angelborn by L. Penelope
  4. Madame Lilly Voodoo Princess by Dormaine G
  5. Madame Lilly Voodoo Princess (Soulless: Volume 2) by Dormaine G
  6. The Death of Death by K.N. Parker
  7. Ghost Gifts by Laura Pinella
  8. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  9. The Darkest Touch by Gena Showalter

I’ve also been splurging like crazy at HPB, so this month’s Book Therapy post is going to be outrageous. I hope you’re ready ;)

Coming Soon!

  • Wednesday Review
  • Everything else is pretty much up in the air and depends on whether or not I stop being sick some time soon.

gratuitous photo of two adults enjoying Disney on Ice with Woody hats on their heads. Uh… BOO-YAH!


I’m linking up to Stacking the Shelves & The Sunday Post!

 

9 thoughts on “Week in Review [4]

    • They are my absolute favorite (and I kind of always wanted to be an ice skater as a kid). I was supposed to go alone for that same reason, but my brother decided to tag along because he loves me sometimes. I mean, I couldn’t not go. Woody was going to be there!

      As to The Dream Thieves, I stuck it out and OHMYGOD I’m so glad I didn’t stop reading. Once I got over the hump, it was just so good. Of course, I may be biased because any book about Ronan Lynch is undoubtedly going to be my next best thing.

      Like

    • Thanks! It was COMPLETELY AMAZING! I definitely recommend checking one out as an adult if you ever have the chance. Still every bit of a magical experience.

      Like

    • Thank you! I love Gena Showalter so much. I got into the Lords of the Underworld series some time last year, and I’ve been casually making my way through them as if they are the air I breathe. Though, I haven’t gotten into much of her new YA reads yet. Have you?

      Like

  1. That’s awesome you got to see Disney on ice, I vaguely remember going a few times when I was a kid to disney on ice here and it was a great experience. I am glad to hear you had a great time. I am sorry to hear about you being sick, I hope you’ll feel better soon. Have a great week

    Like

    • It’s so great! I, too, have vague memories of being there as a kid; but nothing vivid enough to keep me from wanting to go every single year now that I’m an adult. Thanks for the well wishes. I think I may be knocking this cold out of the ballpark with all of the Nyquil I’ve been taking for the past couple of days. I hope your week is amazing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

