Exploring My Bookshelves – Uhm… I’m Uncomfortable

Exploring My Bookshelves with BookensteinBlogFor the weekly topics and more information on how to participate, click here.

Out of Your Comfort Zone

Okay. [/gives resigned sigh] I’m well aware that it is not Friday, but I couldn’t let this one go. I love this topic because there are literally so many of the books [hidden] on my shelves that simply don’t belong. Whether they were recommended to me or won, I have them now… and I haven’t actually read them yet because, well, all of my faves take precedence. But… Maybe one day, right? TBR lists are meant to last forever right?!

Whatever, I do what I want.

Exploring My Bookshelves - A Book Out of My Comfort Zone    Exploring My Bookshelves - A Book Out of My Comfort Zone

This Lisa Kleypas book is a Historical Romance which is definitely unlike anything I have ever experienced… before last December. I’m more of a Paranormal Romance kind of gal when I jump into that genre. However, I was recommended Kleypas’ Wallflower series thanks to the “Complete Trash Book Club [name still pending]” at my job, and I fell in love with this woman’s writing. So, naturally, when I found one of her books for $1 at my go-to used book store, I bought it. Who knows? Maybe historical romances are the new thing for me? Until that admittance comes, though, it’s still very much outside of my comfort zone.

As for Frank Beddor’s The Looking Glass Wars and Joe Abercrombie’s Best Served Cold, I have no clue what these books even are. All I know is that they’ve always been in my possession… and apparently I was getting ARCs before it was cool because that’s what these are. Don’t worry, I wasn’t given them in exchange for a review [considering I was a bby when I got The Looking Glass Wars]. I won them because I was a hardcore reader in my younger years, and this was the way my library used to reward the overachievers in our summer book club.

I do hope to one day read all three of these books. Until then, though… they will just remain as pretty editions to my pretty dark and dreary shelves.

3 thoughts on “Exploring My Bookshelves – Uhm… I’m Uncomfortable

    • Right?! I miss being able to get those. Even the adult “summer reading club” that I’m now eligible doesn’t give anything other than gift cards which is kind of disappointing to me.

      Thanks for the awesome topic!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

