Top Ten Books Guaranteed to Make Me Cry

top-ten-tuesday
For info about the weekly topics and how to participate, click here.

This week’s topic is: Freebie Week! So, what did I do? I chose to dig deep, shake my emotions awake, and share about a few books that made me bawl like a little baby. WHAT?! The top ten books that made Morgan sob profusely? You read that right. And I’m going to let you monsters in on a little secret. I, too, have sat in my bed with streams of tears pouring down my face as I watch my precious babies be slaughtered, go through several heart breaks, and… basically do anything that would devastate me in real life.

It’s oddly satisfying to me when a book can move me to tears because (1) I’m emotionally closed off from like… EVERYONE and (2) I’m that badass who refuses to believe she actually has tear ducts. Many times, I’ve lied about crying to seem more human. But there are just some books that have pushed me over that edge until I was wallowing in my room with a quart of butter pecan ice cream. Amiright?

No? Oh… Just me? Well, here’s to the books that made me feel something. It takes a lot to get this old hardened heart of mine to feel, but you did it. Now, pat yourselves on the back, so that we can get on with things!

Top Ten Books Guaranteed to Make Me Cry

  1. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

Of course I had to begin with the book that recently BROKE MY HEART IN TWO AND STOMPED ON IT UNTIL THERE WAS NOTHING LEFT. Now, I hate spoilers as much as the next reader… and while I know these books have been out for so long, some people haven’t read the book or watched the show and they plan to. So, I won’t say anything but this for now (you have roughly three months before I start spilling first book secrets): GEORGE IS A FILTHY MONSTER. He gives you so many good characters to choose from. You stake your claim on a few then BAM. George flips your life upside down and basically flips you off while he goes back to minding his own business. It hurts. I’m still not over it and I finished this book literal months ago.

an actual gif of me right now just thinking about it

  1. Giovanni’s Room by James Baldwin

First of all, have you read this book?! Because if you read this book, you wouldn’t be questioning why I cried both times I was forced to go through it. This one came along in two of my English classes while I was in college, and I was sitting in my dorm room sobbing. This book takes place in Paris, trailing David as he deals with the frustrations that come with loving another man. It is a wonderful depiction of the fluidity of sexuality and I just… UGH… David did my precious baby Giovanni so wrong… and they executed my baby (not a spoiler, by the by)!

  1. Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon

You know a book is good when the only thing you can remember is staying up waaaay past your bedtime to read and sob into your pillow over a bunch of fictional characters. This book was so jam-packed with feels that I ended up drowning in the rest of Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series (I unknowingly had started with book 12… whoops). I got so attached to Acheron and his take on things that I have yet to read his twin’s perspective. Still on the list.

  1. Oh, the Places You’ll Go! by Dr. Seuss

I don’t have to explain myself. Leave me alone. When you’re feeling sad, this is the perfect pick-me-up, I swear. For an extra boost, consider checking out the audiobook. All jokes aside, I think of this book whenever I’m feeling low. I didn’t get exposed to it until my sophomore year of high school, and it didn’t really hit me until I was in my late junior – early senior year. THEN… it recently hit me again. There’s just something about reading, “Kid, you’ll move mountains!” that opens the floodgates. Which is why I have zero regret about the tattoo I have of this very quote on my ankle.

  1. The Green Mile by Stephen King

Stephen, Stephen, Stephen… You couldn’t just write a horror story, huh? You just had to take it all to a place where I just couldn’t bear going. If you’ve never read this book (and you’re willing to take on the long-winded beast that is Stephen King), I highly recommend this one. But, be warned. It will kill you. You will sit curled up in a ball sobbing and praying that everything ends up alright in the end… even when you know everything has been shot to hell from the moment you picked up the book. Likewise, if you don’t want to read the book, the movie will also tear you to pieces (it’s just super long).

  1. The Hunger Games and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Yes, just these two. I raged so much to anyone who would hear me when I was listening to this series. Then… I got home and sobbed. It was bad. I felt EVERYTHING. The pain never lessens, either. I still bring up Cinna and Rue (and everyone else I loved and lost) in casually conversation as if nothing has changed between us… because it hasn’t. I will never forget you, Suzanne, for making my life a living hell for a whole month.

me talking to the tears

me talking to the tears

  1. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

I will be writing up the actual review soon  (assuming nothing else goes massively wrong), but I can admit right now that I cried a bit listening to this… then got home and cried some more. Why? Because I know that feel, bro. Michael/Mikey (the main character) is dealing with OCD loops on top of massive anxiety. His bestest pal describes him as someone who thinks that he’s the friend everyone can do without. And… [/tries to breathe] I know that feel, bro. There’s this part where he’s talking to his therapist, and she just pauses to let him know that he isn’t to blame for having anxiety by comparing it to a physical illness. You don’t blame other unexpected physical ailments on a person, so why treat mental ones differently? And I just… GUISE.

  1. The Darkest Passion by Gena Showalter

This is actually the book that made me come up with this topic. I just finished reading it Sunday night, and I was crying like a little baby in my room at midnight as if I didn’t know I had to get up for work in the morning. I was a legitimate wreck. It’s one of those moments where you know everything is going to be just fine because, hey, this is a romance novel and that is the MO. But you think: What if? What if Gena decided to ruin my life for realsies this time? Can I even handle it? Probably not.

  1. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White

If you try to convince me you remind stoic when Charlotte died, you are a liar; and I want nothing more to do with you. End scene.

So, tell me, fellow monsters. What books are guaranteed to make you cry?

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Guaranteed to Make Me Cry

  1. I cried my eyes out when I read The Fault in Our Stars! I mean heaving sobs… I couldn’t pick up another book for quite sometime. And I have to agree with The Green Mile and Charlottes Web!
    Great topic!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Parts of The Brothers K (by David James Duncan) made me cry so hard I had to put the book down for awhile. Also, I read Charlotte’s Web a BUNCH when I was a kid, then one day when I was about 11, it suddenly made me sob. Hormones, anyone? I was also a little embarrassed to find myself crying at The Fault in Our Stars. AND–just today I had to take a little breathing break before I could keep reading the end of The Crossover to my 8th graders. I saw some teary eyes in the room too, but didn’t call them out.

    Great topic. I now want to look back through my books and maybe add a “Made me cry” shelf to Goodreads!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I will have to check out all of these books. For some reason I’m in the mood for something truly devastating to my emotions. I really do need to read The Crossover. I’ve had it chilling out in my TBR list ever since I found out about it.
      Thanks! I totally need to do that now. It took me down memory lane to go through all of the books I could remember pushing me over the edge.

      Like

  3. Yep, Giovanni’s Room is basically the most tragic book ever. I have to hide it at the back of my shelf because otherwise it makes me too sad when I see it. Also Oh, The Places You’ll Go: I agree. I read it to my daughter and she looks at me like I’ve actually lost my mind. You have very good taste in tear-jerking books!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I have been forcing everyone I know and love to read Giovanni’s Room. I was close to rereading it this month, but I never psyched myself up for it. Ha. One day, it will click, and your daughter will understand exactly what makes it the best!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

