Literary Birthday: Edgar Allan Poe

First and foremost,

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, EDGAR ALLAN POE!

I know we just celebrated A.A. Milne’s birthday yesterday, but I have no control over the birth of my faves. So, let’s get this show on the road!Literary Birthday: Edgar Allan Poe

“Born January 19, 1809, Edgar Allan Poe was an American writer, editor, and literary critic. Poe is best known for his poetry and short stories, particularly his tales of mystery and the macabre. Widely regarded as a central figure of Romanticism in the United States and American literature as a whole, he was one of the country’s earliest practitioners of the short story.
Poe is generally considered the inventor of the detective fiction genre and is further credited with contributing to the emerging genre of science fiction. He was the first well-known American writer to try to earn a living through writing alone, resulting in a financially difficult life and career.” (via Wikipedia)

 

Now, I would be remiss if I didn’t give this man his props. It’s no secret that Edgar Allan Poe ranks supreme when it comes to presenting the macabre with eloquence and grace. He also ranks supreme in my heart (seriously, I’m obsessed with the man). I admit that I was never really much of a poetry fanatic, and that will probably never change. However, I instantly fell in love with the dark writings of Poe in my junior high years.

I became insane, with long intervals of horrible sanity.

Like many others when first discovering the Father of Mystery, I got snagged by pieces such as The Tell-Tale Heart (the first thing I recall reading), The Raven (oh, come on, “Nevermore” is just fun to “quoth” every once in a while), and Annabel Lee. The obsession was grossly exaggerated from the first moment, leading me to The Fall of the House of Usher and The Cask of Amontillado. Hell, I even performed The Masque of the Red Death multiple times for a speech competition (I didn’t win, but I like to think I struck some fear into the hearts of my fellow competitors).

Literary Birthday: Edgar Allan Poe

Now, I get super excited when kids do their reports on him in school and fangirl scream whenever a current work of fiction gives a subtle nod to him or his works. Like… There was an epigraph of The Raven at the beginning of Stiefvater’s The Raven Boys, and I’m half-convinced that’s the main reason I loved that book as much as I do. Anywhos…

Join me in celebrating this glorious day by grabbing up your favorite EAP work (or discovering something new)!

One thought on “Literary Birthday: Edgar Allan Poe

Leave a Reply

