Literary Birthday: A.A. Milne

On this, A.A. Milne’s Birthday (and the official “Winnie the Pooh Day”), I figured what better way to honor a childhood fave than to shout to the world what Winnie-the-Pooh means to me. Before I get into that, though. Here’s a little something about the genius behind the bear…

On this Day: A.A. Milne's Birthday

“Born January 18 1882, Alan Alexander “A. A.” Milne was an English author, best known for his books about the teddy bear Winnie-the-Pooh and for various poems. Milne was a noted writer, primarily as a playwright, before the huge success of Pooh overshadowed all his previous work. Milne served in both World Wars, joining the British Army in World War I, and was a captain of the British Home Guard in World War II. Milne is most famous for his two Pooh (Winnie-The-Pooh and The House at Pooh Corner) books about a boy named Christopher Robin after his son, Christopher Robin Milne, and various characters inspired by his son’s stuffed animals, most notably the bear named Winnie-the-Pooh.” (via Wikipedia)

Literary Birthday: A.A. Milne

What Winnie-the-Pooh means to me: Bliss

That’s it. I should end the post right there… But I will try to go on.

In an attempt to get over the heaviness of A Game of Thrones, I checked out the Winnie-the-Pooh collection’s audiobook from my library and listened to it for a straight week at work. It took me right down memory lane to be submersed in a world I hadn’t visited in years.

** Now, I must make a confession: I was never introduced to the books as a child, so I have no clue where the obsession with the original work came from. In fact, my first memory of loving these characters is from the Disney adaption (such a poser, right?) **

Anywhos, it got me thinking how my love for the characters and the stories as a whole evolved as I did. One thing you have to understand is that I was something of a wild child in my younger years. So, it came as no surprise to anyone that I loved Tigger the most. I refused to let anyone compare me to anyone other than Tigger because he was a fun– a nuisance at times but still fun. I had an energy as a child that couldn’t be stopped. From Tigger, I learned to have fun.

Then I got older…

And as I continued to watch the reruns on the Disney channel Eeyore’s character really clicked for me. From Eeyore, I learned that depression wasn’t a damning life sentence; and you won’t be alone forever because of it. Eeyore still had friends, and he was still invited to all of the parties even thought everyone knew he would never be the happiest guy in the room. And that was really something I clung to as I evolved into a sad, faux-adult.

Something can be learned from each character which is a rarity even with other genres. Also, in case you hadn’t noticed, Winnie-the-Pooh has some pretty great bits of wisdom throughout that not only makes you smile while reading but also encourages you in your every day life. Which is why I have a part of this one tattooed on my arm:

If ever there is tomorrow when we’re not together… there is something you must always remember. You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. But the most important thing is, even if we’re apart… I’ll always be with you.

So, if you’ve got the time in your day/week/month/year, I would definitely recommend you check out this wonderful collection. It’s one that knows no age group. I promise you won’t regret it. Who knows? You may even discover something you missed before.

Happy Winnie-the-Pooh Day!

2 thoughts on “Literary Birthday: A.A. Milne

Leave a Reply

