Banned Books Challenge 2016

I am incredibly new to the wonderful world of book blogging which means I will be prone to making a lot of mistakes– like signing up for each and every reading challenge I run across for the next couple of weeks. However, the Banned Books Challenge hosted by Buckling Bookshelves is sure to be my least-regretted entry.

Banned Books 2016 Challenge

I have always been drawn to reading banned books because, hey, it’s just like being a badass rebel without leaving the warmth of your bed. Also, if you tell me I can’t do something, the odds of me doing it anyway reaches a level Over 9,000!

As a self-proclaimed book lover, I don’t understand the banning of books from the shelves. The way I see it, this process is only a way to silence those who truly have a story to tell. Therefore, any and all awareness that can be made for these mistreated books is a win in my book!


Here is  some information on the challenge itself from the host blog:

DATES: January 1, 2016 through December 31, 2016

RULES: Any book that has been banned or challenged counts. Books can be any format, any length, and can overlap with other challenges. Graphic novels, children’s books, picture books are all fine — any book that has been banned or challenged works for this challenge.

LEVELSBelow are the levels you can choose from. Changing your mind is OK — you can go up or down in level at any time. I said low-pressure, remember? I’m not the book police, I promise.

Making Waves: 1-2 Challenged Books
Trouble-Maker: 3-5 Challenged Books
Rabble-Rouser: 6-9 Challenged Books
Rebel: 10-14 Challenged Books
Leader of a Revolution: 15+ Challenged Books


I will be shooting for the Leader of a Revolution level, and I’ll be keeping a running list here for anyone who would like to see what I plan to get up to this year (caution: list is subject to change with any unforeseeable interests that may arise):

  1. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie
  2. The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky
  3. The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger
  4. Beloved, by Toni Morrison
  5. The Lord of the Rings, by J.R.R. Tolkien
  6. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling
  7. Go Tell it on the Mountain, by James Baldwin
  8. Drama by Raina Telgemeier
  9. Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood by Marjane Satrapi
  10. The Miseducation of Cameron Post Emily M. Danforth
  11. Looking for Alaska by John Green
  12. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
  13. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
  14. The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
  15. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
  16. Running with Scissors by Augusten Burroughs
  17. Girl, Interrupted by Susanna Kaysen
  18. The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman


Click here to sign up for the Banned Books Challenge!

6 thoughts on “Banned Books Challenge 2016

Leave a Reply

