Exploring My Bookshelves – A Book I Meant to Read Last Year

Exploring My Bookshelves with Bookenstein

For the weekly topics and more information on how to participate, click here.

A Book I Meant to Read Last Year

I couldn’t stick to just one book. So, I deviated a little bit to include the top three books I meant to read last year and just didn’t. Honestly, this past year was absolute hell with all of the changes going down in my company and having to deal with  completely different job expectations. I didn’t read as much as I wanted to.

Exploring My Bookshelves with BookensteinBlog

Look at my precious abandoned babies, regarding me with such disappointment

  1. The first book is Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Styxx. I’ve actually been meaning to read this bad boy since its release in August of 2013. I mean, I preordered it and everything. I was so ready to curl up and breeze through this beast… until I gave myself a bit of an ultimatum: to read every book that came out before this one in the series.

**What you need to know: Styxx is the 24th(?) book of Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series. TWENTY-FOURTH. I told myself I couldn’t read this new release until I reread 23 other books. What was I thinking? **

It is now 2016, and I still haven’t begun this because the impossible challenge has been accepted. Ugh.

  1. The second book is George R.R. Martin’s A Clash of Kings. It took me four tries to actually sit down and finish the first book (it was read to me because I am a child), but I was hooked once it was done. I’d had every intention on reading the second book in the series. It just didn’t happen because of life and its many distractions. This year, though. This shall be the year of A Song of Ice and Fire. After all, I have a post series already planned for it c:
  1. And last (but certainly not least), is Marissa Meyer’s Cinder (This is what happens when you write your posts in advance, boys and girls. You finish the book you were talking about). In its stead, I’ll bring up Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. People have been singing the praises of this book and The Lunar Chronicles as a whole. With the release of this last book of this series, I decided that it was finally time to jump in and get to reading. I failed. However, I did succeed in buying a copy which is really the first step to me reading the book. (yeah… right… tell that to Styxx and A Clash of Kings, Morgan).

**Exciting News! I’m participating in YA Interrobang’s “Lunarthon” (and possibly posting literary feels throughout the next three months) if anyone would also like to give a go at The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer **

Two of the three are currently on this year’s TBR thanks to all of the reading challenges I’m participating in. Hopefully that lights a fire under my ass to get them read finally.

So, miss out on any good reads last year?

5 thoughts on “Exploring My Bookshelves – A Book I Meant to Read Last Year

  1. […] Sunday, January 3, 2016 – The 2016 Ultimate Reading Challenge Tuesday, January 5, 2016 – Top Ten Resolutions I Have for 2016 Wednesday, January 6, 2016 – Book Review | Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell Thursday, January 7, 2016 – Literary Birthday: Zora Neale Hurston Thursday, January 7, 2016 – Audiobook Review | Eleanor & Park read by Rebecca Lowman & Sunil Malhotra Friday, January 8, 2016 – Exploring My Bookshelves — A Book I Meant to Read Last Year […]

    Like

  2. Clash of Kings is really good! But they’re such massive books, it’s hard to find the time to read them… Cinder is one of the books I meant to read last year too – but I don’t own it, so I can forgive myself a little more :P
    Thanks so much for participating!

    Liked by 1 person

    • They are OH. SO. LONG. I’ve owned the books for a few years now, but I’ve been remedying actually reading them by listening to the audiobook at work. Win-Win situation there. Have you read the entire series?

      Cinder was a total impulse buy for myself when I was supposed to be Christmas shopping #zeroregrets

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nice! I’ll be starting the series some time this month… and my motivation to keep reading is the fact that I won’t watch what I haven’t read.

        Good luck to you on the looong readings ahead of you!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

