Audiobook Review: Eleanor & Park

Bookenstein's Book Review of Eleanor and Park by Rainbow RowellEleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
Published By: St. Martin’s Griffin
(February 26, 2013)
Genre: YA Fiction
336 pages

My Rating: ★★★★☆
Format: Audiobook read by Rebecca Lowman and Sunil Malhotra
Recommended for:
YA fiction lovers who are into quirky romance novels that are presented with an out-of-the-ordinary element (read: lovers John Green, Sarah Dessen etc.)

Goodreads


For the summary and book review, please check out this earlier post.

The Nitty Gritty

It occurred to me yesterday that I should also try to give a little something something on the audiobooks I listen to as their own separate entity (because, in a way, they are). Since yesterday’s Eleanor & Park book review went on much longer than I’d planned, I’ve created a new post to gush about the beauty that was Eleanor & Park: The Audiobook.

While it can be deduced that I didn’t really enjoy Eleanor & Park like everyone else in the world, I can say this: the audiobook saved its life. Based on the auditory work alone, I was almost willing to give it 3-4 stars (Almost).

Yeah, it was just that good.

Rebecca Lowman and Sunil Malhotra were PHENOMENAL and really brought the characters to life with the text they were given. Now, I initially viewed Rainbow Rowell’s back and forth between character point of views (often in the same scene) as interesting. Though, I think this really flourished in audiobook format. After having skimmed through a physical copy, I know I would have been frustrated reading it on my own. The audiobook, however, made it bearable. It almost felt as if I was a privileged being able to enter into the thoughts of each character as they divulged their innermost thoughts.

Rebecca captured Eleanor’s standoffish-teen-filled-with-angst personality to a fucking T. She was absolutely brilliant with the Gods and the Ughs. Like… I seriously thought I was listening to my teenage little sister go on about the injustices of the world, and I secretly loved every minute of it. Sunil also wasn’t so bad at bringing Park to life. Though, he might have come off a bit more sarcastic than Park was meant to be (which, honestly, endeared me more to him). He played lovesick-puppy so well, I was almost able to fall for the love story.

I hope to listen to more by these two narrators on their own to see if the thrill is still there since it’s usually so difficult for me to find readers I actually don’t mind sitting still and listening to for a million hours.

Do you guys have any favorite audiobook readers I should know about?

2 thoughts on “Audiobook Review: Eleanor & Park

Leave a Reply

