The 2016 Ultimate Reading Challenge

PopSugar's 2016 Ultimate Reading ChallengeIn 2016, I will be trying something completely new (to me!) in order to manage my mammoth TBR stack and other responsibilities– a reading challenge! The concept of reading a predetermined set of books throughout the year has always been interesting enough to me; however, it also terrified me greatly. Not only that, but I just didn’t have a system of checks and balances in place for me to get anything accomplished. I mean, I can tell myself that I’m going to do a lot of things; but if I don’t have it in writing, it’s simply not going to get done.

So… after weeks of scouring the internet for something to pique my interest, I’ve finally come across a book challenge that I think actually might work for me. Not to mention, it comes with a swanky printable checklist to keep track of my year-long process.

If you haven’t ever joined (or created) an official reading challenge for yourself, I highly recommend doing so. It isn’t only great for creating a sense of community in the book blogging world. It’s also a great way to diversify your shelves. A lot of the book challenges I’ve come across these past few weeks have included an element or two outside of my norm which I absolutely loved. Now, I’m signing myself up to dive into books I never would have touched otherwise (re: “A book written by a celebrity” Yikes! I’ve been avoiding those types like the plague for years).

Now that I’ve given you my soapbox speech on “Why Yearly Reading Challenges are Important,” I just know you’re sitting on the edge of your seat wondering just which book challenge has gotten my vote for the year. Well, wait no longer. I’m following the one hosted by PopSugar. Featuring everything from “a murder mystery” to “a book with a blue cover,” I can already tell that I will be enjoying this one.

Check out this year’s goals here, and consider joining in with me!

What reading challenges are you committing to this year?

One thought on “The 2016 Ultimate Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

